About Our Club

Our club originally formed in 1889 as Hartlepool Photographic Society. As times have changed so has our club and we changed to our current name and fully embraced digital photography. Since then the club has gone from strength to strength and gained many new members.

At the AGM on Monday 23rd May 2016, it was decided to change the name to Hartlepool Photography Club

Our club meets between September and May each season to enjoy photography in all its forms. An annual program of events forms the backbone of our weekly meetings every Monday beginning at 7pm in the Central Library, York Road, Hartlepool.

Members can enjoy the work of visiting lecturers and photographers, can take part in club and inter-club competitions, or can contribute to our “members nights”, where club members can present their work, whether it be a talk, an AV show, or prints and slides.

The club is a member of the Northern Counties Photographic Federation and the North Yorkshire & South Durham Photographic Association. Projected digital images and prints are entered into competitions run by both groups. Portfolios of images are circulated back to the society from both goups. Members are thus able to enjoy the photography of others across a large area of northern England.


Our Committee

  • President: Don Stephenson
  • Vice President: Ivor Robinson
  • Program Secretary: John Haughey
  • Club Secretary: Judy Thompson
  • Competition Secretaries: John Haughey
  • Webmaster & Facebook: Don Stephenson (Email: donstephenson.hpdg@virginmedia.com )
  • Treasurer: Judy Thompson
  • Committee Members: Terry Richards.